Monday, July 8, 2013

Final Mission Packet Notice; FAQ Call-Out

All,

Final Mission Packets for ALL EVENTS are due to me by July 15 from the leads, with publication on the web by August 1, to give everyone a full month of practice in any/all events with EVERY mission as it will actually occur and be presented.

Anticipate the 40k GT missions will be rotated around a bit such that the first 3 missions for Friday are tuned to the alternate terrain layout - NO center LOS blocker, but the larger blocking hills moved up to midfield on offset flanks, with better terrain concentrations along the central area of each Dawn of War deployment zone. Yes, that's correct, there won't be a massive LOS blocker camping on top of the Relic this year :) That's the last hint I'll give before August 1.

We are working on the updated FAQ over the next couple of weeks; ANY questions you think need answering, post them here!

Also, finished serpents and hawks ...



37 comments:

  1. beautiful.

    Zoanthrope in close combat becomes free due to enemy dying at the beginning of the shooting phase from his special ability. Does he get to consolidate and take an action in the shooting phase such as running or shooting?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Can multiples of the same blessing/malediction stack?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, but multiple different castings of the same blessing/malediction NAME can stack.

      So, you can stack an Enfeeble from one psyker with an Enfeeble from another, in the same way that you can hit a model with a meltagun from one marine and a meltagun from the other marine.

      Same NAME is different from Same. Yada.

      Delete
    2. Gotcha. But seeing as there aren't any Psykers that can cast the same power more than once, the distinction is kind of a moot point, isn't it?

      Delete
    3. When the rulebook released, there WERE psykers who could cast the same power more than once, so, no.

      Also, the rulebook states different maledictions/blessing can stack; it does not say the same ones cannot, so the distinction is in a sense just part and parcel of carrying on the argument to its endpoint.

      The main discussion revolves around what "different" is. If I shoot a meltagun at you, and Jim shoots a meltagun at you, our meltaguns are definitely DIFFERENT. If I hurl a smite at you, and Jim hurls a smite at you, those smites are different. Same is true for Mals/Blessings.

      Your same point there could also apply to the reverse logic - there are NO powers for which the rule "different powers can stack" applies unless it also applies to different castings of the SAME power.

      Delete
    4. I could see it as meaning that Enfeeble and Nurgle's Rot will stack to -2S. Either way I'm not trying to convince you; I've got no dog in the fight, just want it to be answered as it will certainly come up and it's one of those things that's played differently in different regions.

      How about infiltrating and ICs? And does Coteaz's IBEY work from the initial point the unit arrives from reserves or the final point, mostly asking about Flyers here.

      Delete
  3. Dunno if it will be covered or not. So:

    http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/531147.page (All the Eldar FAQ questions generated so far)

    Also how is the IC and infiltrate situation being handled and Multi-tracker/MC and overwatch?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Both units must have Infiltrate in order to Infiltrate, unless they have a rule that explicitly states otherwise (i.e., Shrike). That said, Infiltrate will confer Outflank, and the Outflank USR still operates in the same fashion with regard to transferrence.

      Multi-Tracker/MC and Overwatch is likely to be ruled they fire 2 weapons.

      TY for the Eldar FAQ listing.

      Delete
  4. if a regular infantry model joins a units of jetpack infantry does the jetpack infantry lose the 2d6 move in the assault phase or can the jet packs moves 2d6 and the regular infantry model cannot move?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Movement is by model, so the jetpack models can move 2D6" so long as they don't move out of coherency with the regular infantry.

      Delete
    2. Cannot break coherency / etc. but otherwise good to go. It's a little fuzzy b/c the wording for Jet Pack thrust movement is different from the Eldar Jetbike wording, in that it refers to "Jet Pack Units" as opposed to "an Eldar Jetbike."

      Likely to rule they're good to move as they please, just cannot break coherency, since generally movement is always by model.

      Delete
    3. What the tournament organizer said!

      Delete
  5. When using markerlights on say a unitnof crisis with target lcok and drones..all shooting diffrrent targets butthe original target contains the markerlights..does the entire unit benefit from the additional BS or just the models firing the unit with the tokens?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Markerlight tokens are used specifically for shooting attacks against the unit (A) with them: So a target locked-model shooting at a different unit (B) without markerlight tokens will not benefit from the player spending A's tokens on A because it is shooting at B.

      Delete
  6. If a character denies a challenge can wounds be applied to him before the rest of the squad is dead?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sure, the character model just can't attack, and its leadership cannot be used by the unit. On the other hand, the wounds will be applied in the usual closest-model-first fashion, so if the character is furthest away from the attackers, then it'll be the last to have wounds allocated.

      Delete
  7. Ruling on Interceptor Broadsides / etc.:

    While a WEAPON with the Interceptor USR may be fired at any one unit that has arrived from reserve within its range and line of sight, two things apply:

    1) It must be a unit that has arrived from reserve THAT TURN
    2) The UNIT firing the weapon(s) with Interceptor must still follow the standard rules for selecting a target / shooting / allocating wounds / etc.

    In other words, you may not:
    1) Intercept units that arrived on previous turns from reserves (note, the USR does not specify timing, only that they may be fired at units that have arrived from reserve, which means ... anytime thereafter by strict RAW)
    2) Fire 3 Broadside missile pods at 3 targets, and their SMS at 3 other targets, with Interceptor

    ReplyDelete
  8. Supporting fire in the tau codex. For the purposes of markerlights in units. Does all the supporting fire happen simultaneously or is it done one unit at a time with units possibly benefiting from another units markerlights?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Also has a ruling been made on the new terrain whether it will be allowed or not?

      Delete
  9. This isn't really an FAQ questions but how are you going to handle the new supplements being released? The Iyanden supplement is now available in print but direct only and the Farsight will be available next week for download on both Ipad style devices and Nooks/Kindle/Android devices but not available in physical print.

    So are they going to be allowed to be used? I'd like to know as the Farsight one in particular is interesting to me and will be out more than 1-month prior to the event.

    ReplyDelete
  10. How about Walker/Monsterous Creatures and Ruins? The rulebook says to talk it over with your opponent but I think a tournament wide ruling would be better for consistancy's sake. My brother's mostly interested because he wants to know if his soul grinder can assault units on the upper level of ruins (the grinder can easily make contact even without ascending a level but that's kind of strange).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The rule is explicitly that they CANNOT. While you may discuss it with your opponent all you like, and not contact a judge, the judges will always go with the specific rulebook statements (and since not all ruins are created equal ...).

      Delete
  11. Do screamers get charge bonus to lamprey bite? I know smash attack for MC gains bonus, screamer entry says they exchange all normal attacks for a single bite I wasn't sure of charge bonus is considered a normal attack or a modifier

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No charge bonus applies to Lamprey's Bite. Lamprey's Bite is a single attack with the stated profile; regardless of attack #'s or methods, it can only be used as a single attack.

      Delete
  12. Lols and Gags, Lol Pictures, Lol Videos, Funny Pictures, Lol is the Laugh out of Laugh where you can Fun Unlimited and Laughing Unlimited. Visit the Best Lol Network Ever, where you can every thing is lol and Funny, Troll Images, Funny Vidoes, Prank Peoples, Funny Peoples, Prank Images, Fail Pictures, Epic Pictures, Epic Videos, Prank Videos, Fail Videos and Much More Fun and Entertainment
    lolsgag.com

    ReplyDelete
  13. Can an exarch use fast shot with the aegis defense lines gun? The reason I ask is the wording in fast shot on page 30 of the codex. It says he can fire one more shot than is normally shot for "his" weapon. Since anyone can fire the aegis gun does that make it "his" gun? Also, in the description of fast shot they list example weapons that can be selected specifically by exarchs. I'm thinking GW is referring to the exarch's personal weapons from his entry.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Do hits from the Ravenwing grenadelauncher using rad grenades lower the target units toughness for any other shots fired simultaneously? The grenadelauncher rule says any unit hit get -1 T, and since 'to wound' comes after 'to hit' it seems like the rest of the RW units shooting is indeed using the new lower Toughness value.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes. Any unit HIT, since they've already been hit it immediately would apply.

      Delete
  15. Not sure its been covered. Spawned units of horrors? Can they generate a spell upon arrival to the board? Can they cast the turn they are spawned?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Generate, can cast turn they are spawned, but not if it's a Malediction / Blessing (I don't think they actually have one of these, and those are the only psy powers - powers that must manifest at the start of the turn - they can't use on turn of arrival ... Witchfire by RAW can be used on arrival turn).

      Delete
  16. Do flying monstrous creature count as contesting an objective while flying?

    Does the chaos daemons warp storm hit flyers?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes and yes, except not any templates/blasts [I hope obviously].

      Delete
  17. I have a few questions about Daemons that I think I know the answer to but I might as well get cleared up:

    1) Pink horror unit with an illuminated horror (character) fires its 'Flickering Fire of Tzeentch' psyker power. If they measure range and line of sight from the character do they gain precision shots for all 6s to hit?

    2) If a Bloodthirster or Daemon Prince takes a greater reward and rolls a 6, 'Unbreakable Hide: 3+ armour' is it allowed to re-roll the result if it already has 'Warp-forged Armour: 3+ armour' or are these not technically duplicates because of different name?

    3) What exactly is considered a 'Demonic Gift' for the effect of 'Dark Excommunication' psyker power?

    4) When Pink Horror units are spawned say from a portalglyph or warp storm #12 are they allowed to roll for a psyker power then and there, even though powers are only generated before deployment? Same for Heralds of Tzeentch from warp storm #3?

    5) A Lord of Change with both 'Staff of Change' and 'Mutilating Warpblade' who chooses to use the staff in combat then slays a character. What order do you resolve 'Warpdoom' and 'Warp Mutilation'? Is it the player controlling the turn's choice?

    6) What happens if the Lord of Change kills itself due to 'Mindshackle Scarabs' or 'Hallucination', does it resolve 'Warpdoom' and 'Warp Mutilation' and does the daemon player still control the spawn?

    Thanks for your time, and thanks for everything you do!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. 1) Yup
      2) Not duplicates (sad face!)
      3) I believe there's a whole section of the Daemons codex that refers to gifts (which are not all the same as rewards)
      4) Yes, Yes
      5) If simul, controlling player's choice per rulebook
      6) Yes and yes

      Delete
    2. Correction to #6 - NO; these rules specify if the bearer kills an ENEMY model ... even if they kill themselves, they are not an enemy model to themselves.

      Delete